Cody wins Ice Cream Hill Climb TT

July 18, 2014 – What happens when you put an ice cream van on top of a hill on a Friday night and unleash some hungry cyclists at the bottom? A whole world of big-ring action on the Ballybetagh Road to Glencullen.

Racing co-ordinator Richie Gallagher conducted this experiment, with his able assistant the Inter-Club League manager Brian Hayden, and found that specialist Alan Cody wanted his 99 the most, winning by 24 seconds with a time of 6m39s on his blue Storck.

Club Champion John McGettigan powered up next in 7m03s, just two seconds quicker than last year’s National Hill Climb Championships silver medallist Martin Vereker. Newcomer Rob Baer was first of the non-racers home in a time of 7m58s, while radonnee queen Helen Kerrane won the women’s division in 8m53s.

Hill Climb TT preview

Full results – 

St. Tiernan’s CC Ice Cream Hill Climb TT
Placing Name Time
1st Alan Cody 6′ 39”
2nd John McGettigan 7’03”
3rd Martin Vereker 7’05”
4th Richard Gallagher 7’07”
5th John Malone 7’20”
6th James Kelly 7’21”
7th Eamon Perrigrene 7’29”
8th James Quinn 7’30”
9th Paul Kissane 7’32”
10th Louis Twomey 7’42”
11th Daragh O’Toole 7’50”
11th Lawrence Clifford 7’50”
13th Robert Baer 7’58”
14th Damien Heffernan 8’31”
15th Gary Monaghan 8’32”
16th Alan Killian 8’41”
17th Micheal Mescal 8’43”
18th Helen Kerrane 8’53”
19th Jess Lamb 10’08”
20th Annie Gormley 16’52”

No Replies to "Cody wins Ice Cream Hill Climb TT"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK