The 2016 Friends First Laragh Classic was won by TeamAqua Blue's Conor Hennebry, who rode over the line in splendid isolation after the 87km race.

Team mate Sean Lacey followed him home with France-based Philip Lavery coming third and claiming the Leinster Champions title.

In the Laragh Classic A4, supported by FitzCycles, Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club's Callum O'Toole also came in alone, winning on his racing debut from Swords Cycling Club's David McKevitt.

Full results for Friends First Laragh Classic 2016
1 Connor Hennebry AquaBlue
2 Sean Lacey Aqua Blue
3 Philip Lavery Baque C
4 Mateo Cigala AquaBlue
5 Dermot Trulock Lucan
6 Cathal Purcell Carrick Wheelers - KOH
7 Ryan Sherlock UA
8 Conn McDunphy Lucan
9 Ian Richardson UCD
10 Jamie Blanchfield Hennebont Cyclisme

2016 Leinster Champions

Leinster Championships A2
1 Ciaran Handley Swords
2 Cillian Whelan DID
3 Fergus Fagan Navan

Leinster Championships A3
1 Damien Donlon Swords
2 Conor Murnane Scott Orwell
3 Brendan Kiernan Lakeside Wheelers

Leinster Championships Juniors
1 Eoin Byrne Scott Orwell
2 Cian Keogh SERC

Leinster Championships A1
1 Philip Lavery
2 Mateo Cigala
3 Dermot Trulock

2016 Vets Leinster Champions
1 John Lee Trim
2 Mark Murphy Bray Wheelers
3 Jamie Buster Scott Orwell
(there is no A4 category for Leinster Championships)

Laragh Classic A4
1 Callum O'Toole Scott Orwell
2 David McKevitt Swords
3 Cormac O'Connor St. Tiernan's CC
4 Philip White Wexford Wheelers
5 Wayne Byrne SERC
6 Martin Deevy Naas
KOH Aidan McKenna Bray

Friends First Laragh Classic, Sunday, September 11, 2016

Now with added prize money and again incorporating the Leinster Road Racing Championships

ST. TIERNAN’S CYCLING CLUB proudly presents the third renewal of the Friends First Laragh Classic Road Race, this September 11 in County Wicklow.

After making its debut on a Classics-style circuit back in 2013, hosting only riders up to A3 grade, the epic one-day has progressed to installing an elite A1/A2 race, as well as a dedicated A3 event and an A4 event.

The Laragh Classic will incorporate the Leinster Road Racing Championships for the second time in 2016 and will feature boosted prize money once again, following on from 2015’s increase of €435.

One thing left completely unchanged is the course; it remains that hilly, narrow 24km circuit around the back roads from Laragh to Garryduff, Moneystown, and Annamoe. There are fast descents, technical descents and tricky climbs, on varying surfaces that are best described as Classics roads.

We look forward to seeing you at this year’s Race for the Fabled Wicklow Cobble – it’s the last road race of the season – where else would you be?

ALL races LIMITED to 80 riders. Enter online to avail of early bird offers and avoid disappointment: ENTER HERE

2016 Friends First Laragh Classic Road Race Details
The featured 2016 Friends First Laragh Classic Road Race will be open to A1/A2 riders with supporting races for A3 category and A4 category riders, including women and elite juniors. The card also incorporates the Leinster Road Racing Championships. Please see below to find out if you qualify for a provincial medal.
  • A1/A2 for the Laragh Classic Cobble: 116km, 4.5laps
  • A3 Martin Vereker Memorial: 87km, 3.5laps
  • A4: 63km, 2.5laps
All races start at 11am. Sign on will open at 9am in The Brockagh Resource Centre, Laragh, Co. Wicklow, where there is limited parking and changing facilities are available. Showers are not available.

Am I eligible for the Leinster Championship medals?
To be eligible for a Leinster Championship medal on Friends First Laragh Classic day you must  satisfying one of the following criteria:
  • Belonging to a club / team based in the Province;
  • Unattached and resident in the Province;
  • Residency in the Province;
  • Belonging to a club / team based outside Ireland but: 1) Immediate past address was in the Province or 2) Most previous Irish club / team was based in the Province.
IMPORTANT: You can only compete in one Provincial Championship per season, so choose wisely  

Download the Racebook

The 2016 Laragh Classic Racebook will be available to download in early September. For a profile of the parcours download this GPX file of the circuit and download the 2015 Racebook.

Laragh Classic race book 2014